The Helgoland Roads zooplankton time series has been started by Wulf Greve and Frank Reiners at the marine station of the Biologische Anstalt Helgoland in 1974. Since 1998 the program was continued as a co-operation of the Senckenberg Research Institute (DZMB), the Federal Marine and Hydrographic Agency of Germany (BSH) and the Biologische Anstalt Helgoland, now within the foundation Alfred Wegener Institute.


Numerous partners from these institutes from sailors on the cutters Ellenbogen, Aade, Diker and Uthörn, assistants handling the preservation and shipping, highly trained staff to sort and count the samples, develop the IT-programs and analytic tools, institutes to foster these investigations and funding agencies (DfG and BMBF) to support the development of the prognostic routines.

I gratefully acknowledge their professional efficiency.

Wulf Greve

Current members of the working group:

Wulf Greve        Frank Reiners     Jutta Nast     Sven Hoffmann